top of page

The Basilicata region

Basilicata, also known as Lucania, is a region in Southern Italy, bordering on

Campania to the west, Apulia (Puglia) to the north and east, and Calabria

to the south. It also has two coastlines, one on the Tyrrhenian Sea between

Campania and Calabria, and a longer coastline along the Gulf of Taranto

between Calabria and Apulia. The region can be thought of as the "instep"

of Italy, with Calabria functioning as the "toe" and Apulia the "heel".

The region covers about 10,000 km2 (3,900 sq mi) and in 2010 had a population slightly under 600,000. The regional capital is Potenza. The region is divided into two provinces: Potenza and Matera.

Basilicata, defining it as "Italy’s best-kept secret".

Aglianico del Vulture is an Italian red wine based on the Aglianico grape and produced in the Vulture area of Basilicata.

It was awarded Denominazione di Origine Controllata (DOC) status in 1971 and the Denominazione di Origine Controllata e Garantita (DOCG) status in 2011.

Located on volcanic soils derived from nearby Mount Vulture, Aglianico del Vulture is the only DOCG in Basilicata.

Although not as famous as other Italian wines, Aglianico del Vulture is considered one of the best red wines of Italy

Most of the vineyards are located on higher altitudes in the region, typically between 450 to 600 meters. The Aglianico grape ripens late and is often one of the last non-dessert wine grapes to be harvested in Italy being picked from late October to early November. When yields are kept low, the grape will produce intensely flavored wines.

Wine regions:

Aglianico del Vulture DOCG can be produced only in the following communes: Rionero in Vulture, Barile, Rapolla, Ripacandida, Ginestra, Maschito, Forenza, Acerenza, Melfi, Atella, Venosa, Lavello, Palazzo San Gervasio, Banzi, Genzano di Lucania.

bottom of page